endometriosis · hormone therapy · lupron · lupron depot · ovarian cyst · Uncategorized

Laparoscopic Cystectomy #2

A few short weeks ago, I learned that the best course of action regarding the treatment of my endometriosis is to have a second surgery. My first surgery was only 7 months ago, making me skeptical at first. Post-surgery, I had completed 5 months of Lupron Depot injections. Coming off of the Lupron only seemed to make my pain worse! All of my symptoms on the medication ceased, yet my pain increased. The feeling is like having period cramps 24/7 with little kicks into the gut every now and then. Also, a small cyst was found on the left side (approx. 2-3 cm) which will be removed during the upcoming surgery. Hopefully my new doctor in Chicago will be able to remove as much of the endometrial tissue as possible and a surgery won’t be necessary for at least a few years. She works in a department called “gynecological pain” so I’m hopeful!

As December 3rd, 2015 looms closer, I’ve taken time to reflect on the meaning of having two surgeries in a year. I’ve also had time to think about a similar situation an old friend is going through. My friend recently had a laparoscopic cystectomy to have 2 huge cysts removed. A few weeks after her surgery (bear in mind, she is only 24 years old), she was diagnosed with ovarian cancer. She is moving back home to complete 6 months of chemotherapy as well as a hysterectomy. I can’t even begin to imagine the pain and fear she is going through at this moment. To be in your mid-20’s and be told that you not only have cancer, but will never have biological kids, has got to be devastating. It really put things into perspective for me and made me realize that life really isn’t bad at all; that people around the world are experiencing life changing catastrophes daily, and in reality, my life is pretty darn good as it is.

IMG_0790

Leave a Reply

